Birds & Bees

Monday Morning Memo

Good morning world!

I haven’t posted since I left Bloomsburg, so I felt it was time for an update.

Since returning home almost one week ago, I’m half moved in with a list of summer goals and a productive mentality. I’ve read people are more likely to achieve their goals if they share them with others so I hope to do that today. Hopefully I also inspire you to create your own summer goal list and accomplish big things with me these next few months!

I broke my goal list down by month. I didn’t want to overwhelm myself with a list of 20 or so things¬† I’d like to accomplish so I split them up among May, June, July, and August to create a clear finish line for myself before I return back to school. Here are some examples of my list of goals for my first two months of summer. Because I came home mid-May, my goals for that month altered after my transition from college to home living.

May

  • Write one-two blog posts a week
  • Read two new books
  • Declutter my belongings
  • Walk Milo twice a day

June

  • Create an emergency savings account
  • Go to the gym once a day
  • Attend church every Sunday
  • Create and stick to a budget

 

While making my list of goals, I considered what my goal is with this blog. Because I want to be a writer post-college, I know practice makes perfect with all things, especially writing. I noticed that my categories of posts were very broad and decided I should find my niche. I can recall all the times I’ve watched Sex and the City¬† and admired Carrie Brashaw and the number of times I’ve heard the phrase “Write what you know.” After considering my current readers, my current status (as a college student), and my online self, I have decided the route I would like to follow with my blog. Because of the previously stated factors, this decision was a hard one to make, however I feel like my parents really did prepare me for this.

When I was growing up, my parents always discussed sex openly. They explained the birds and the bees, they were open to answering questions, and they created a comfortable environment for their children to be able to discuss a normally uncomfortable subject. I feel like because of this, today I am not the type of person to blush and giggle when the topic comes up in a discussion and am also very open. While I mostly refrain from referencing to my personal experiences, this has never been a topic I’ve avoided discussing and decided to apply this to my blog.

This is the part where I’d like to insert an important disclaimer:

If things posted are offensive or written distastefully in your opinion, I welcome comments, suggestions, and opinions however you are also free to not contribute to my reader count. I understand this topic is still considered a private matter for some, however I don’t fall into that category. While I won’t dish out the details of what occurs in my life at this time, I would like to address misconceptions about sex, funny or interesting stories shared by my friends (with their permission), sex in society and topics/issues relating.

I would also like to take this time to currently thank my readers. I appreciate the feedback and criticisms that will make me a better write. I also welcome fellow bloggers to leave a link to their blog below for myself and other readers to check out.

Until next time,

B

 

Leave a Reply

