The Struggle

Lately I’ve been losing motivation to write my articles, blog posts, and papers. While searching for ways to get out of this slump, I decided what better way than to write?

As I sit in my Rhetoric class on this lovely Monday morning, I’m considering why I’m doing all this work in the first place. While I want to be a well known, professional writer, my generational curse of the desire for instant gratification begins to take a toll on the steps leading to that end result.

While I have made many to-do lists, I’ve began to consider what other ways I can motivate myself to get all this work done. I have considered -“if you want this bad enough, you’ll do it.” Unfortunately, even that hasn’t pushed me.

I decided after my two classes today, my best option would be to gather all my things and head to the library for the next two or three days. Considering there are only two weeks left of classes, it is literally now or never for me to buckle down and get things done.

Reminding myself of the position I’d like to be in, in the next few years pushes me a little each day. Do any of my readers have any motivational Monday tips to share? Feel free to leave a comment below!

Until next time,

B

2 comments

  1. I feel in your position, the point when I need motivation and energy the most before finals next week and I lack content and motivation. I need to do the same thing and just sit in the library and force myself to finish everything and write more but sometimes its hard when I don’t have any motivation to do anything but sleep. If you find out how to get out of your slumps let me know, I really could use those tips

    Liked by 1 person

    • My advice would be to do just that; force yourself to go to the library with all your work and some snacks & just bunker down for a day. I spent my day yesterday doing exactly that and I was so productive! Seeing all the things getting crossed off of my to do list motivated me to keep going and I ended up writing an article, blog post, and two papers yesterday alone!
      Remember why you’re doing this work in the first place and where you’d like to be in the future and I’m sure you’ll find the motivation to kick finals in the butt!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

