Music

My interview with Word Smyth

So lately I have been wondering what direction my blog would go in; what my niche would be, what I could actually enjoy spending hours talking, learning, writing, and reading about. I tried to focus on the things that positively influence my days and nights and then it hit me: music. Whether I’m sitting at home with my headphones plugged in or driving around with my radio blasting, music has a major influence on my mood, views, and even lifestyle.

I thought of all the ways I could incorporate music to my page and I thought why not an interview??

I was so excited when my friend Word Smyth, agreed to do an interview for Off White.

Here’s some music to accompany the read!

I would just like to say that with this being my first interview my introduction  wasn’t very smooth so we’re just going to jump right in!

Brianna Cruz: Do you have a stage name or do you use your birth name or an old nickname?
Word Smyth: For production I go by “E-Major” and recording I go by “Word Smyth.”
B.C: I see what you did there *chuckles* so how did you decide on Word Smyth to be your recording name?
W.S: Well, I’ve been in sales my whole life for my job outside of music. One thing you learn in sales is the ability to articulate your words to make a product sound more enticing and desirable. So I use the same approach with my music. Word Smything, if you will.
B.C: That’s very clever and creative. When did you begin writing music and rapping?
W.S: I started in music production when I was 14 with a program called “Acid” by Sony. It was basically piecing together loops to create a song. I had a friend who introduced me to FL Studio after that and I fell in love. FL allows you to have more control over what you create and isn’t loop based. After I started producing I would write random songs here and there. To be completely honest, I was garbage *laughs* but I kept working at it and practicing flows, word play and articulation. Word Smything, if you will.
B.C: That was a very inspirational story on how practice makes perfect. (Especially for a fairly new blogger) So why music?
W.S: Music has always been my emotional outlet. Before production I taught myself how to play the piano, which was how I released all my pent-up emotion. I grew up in a very sheltered, religious, legalistic family. So I was very socially awkward and had nowhere to go when I got angry so I turned to music. Music is so much more to me than entertainment. Music saved my life.
B.C: How so?
W.S: I was home schooled so I really only saw friends at church. I was cooped up in the house more often than not. When you’re around your parents 24/7, you butt heads and arguments are inevitable. When you don’t have anywhere to go outside the house you get depressed and start to feel helpless. If I didn’t have music as an outlet, I most likely would have found other ways to cope which may not have been the healthiest. During my divorce, music healed me..
B.C: Wow, I’m really happy it had such a positive influence on you life. Has your past influenced your lyrics?
W.S: Oh absolutely. In my opinion, music is only real music in its raw form. Emotion is what drives the listener to correlate with what the artist is saying. If no one relates to you, who’s going to listen to you? So yes, I have written quite a few songs about my life.
B.C: What message do you typically hope your listeners get from your music?
W.S: Hope. Not every struggle is one that is from living in the streets or a drug infested neighborhood. Some struggles are the silent struggles that each individual faces when their alone. I want my music to show others that no matter what walk of life you come from, there is hope through hard work and focus. It’s not easy, but it’s worth it.
B.C: That’s beautiful. Having gone through a few rough spots myself, I really enjoy music that’s uplifting not only through the beat but through the message it’s (the music) is giving. Is your family supportive of your music?
W.S: They weren’t *laughs* When I first decided to go to college for music production, I needed help with financial support. I asked my dad for help and he eventually said, “It’s not that I can’t help you, it’s that I don’t feel the need to.” So I applied for any scholarships I could find. I made it in to school on my own dollar and maintained a 4.0 until I dropped out. They’re not supportive in regards to my content because their religious. My music speaks out against religion and the lifestyle that it forces you to live. It makes the listener question what they’ve been taught to believe since birth. They’re coming around because I’m starting to have some success with it, but in the beginning, it was just me.
B.C: Wow, so you can really say you’ve built yourself up from the bottom. What do you like most, so far, in regards to the music production industry?
W.S: What I like most… Hmm. I like the energy of being in the studio with people who I vibe with. During that moment, nothing matters except that song and the music. It’s my serenity.
B.C: How many people have you worked with so far?
W.S: Oh gosh, too many to name. My main artist “T-Ravill” has been my right hand since I practically started.
B.C: What are some of the best things about working with other artists?
W.S: The best is when random artists come together and a song flows so smoothly out of the chemistry in the studio.
B.C: So far who has been your favorite artist to work with? And who are some artists you hope to work with in the future?
W.S: My favorite artist would have to be Travis (T-Ravill). Our chemistry in the studio is second to none. In the future, I’d like to work with Futuristic, Chris Miles, Tory Lanez and the Beibs.
B.C: What are your long-term goals when it comes to music?
W.S: My long-term goal is to be able to do music full-time. Like wake up and go into the studio and bust out hits all day. I want to create an empire that I can pass down to my daughters when it comes time.
B.C:  Many people today aspire to be famous musicians and producers.What’s kept you from quitting?
W.S: My daughters and my spiteful attitude.*giggles* Revenge is the best success.
B.C: Hey that’s a great reason to make sure you get to the top!  How do you define the word “success”
W.S: Success to me is the ability to wake up and not have to go to a dead-end job that I don’t enjoy to make a worthless paycheck that goes straight to bills. Summed up, financial freedom and the ability to manage my own schedule would be success.
On that note, I would like to wish Word Smyth a life full of musical success! Feel free to check E-Major’s production on Youtube!
interview1
Find him on:
Facebook – WordSmyth Official
Twitter – @WordSmyth_
Instagram – WordSmythOfficial
Snapchat – WordSmyth2016
I hope enjoyed my first interview on Off White. If you are a young adult aspiring to be a singer, producer, actor, model, writer, or creator of any type and are interested in being interviewed and exposed to wider audience email me at brizurc@gmail.com
If you are a fellow blogger interested in posting under the “Music” category, send me an email as well!
Until next time,
xo B
Leave a Reply

